cocktail flippin’

Mentioned in my last post was my delight in meeting other like-minded folk within the blogging community. My circle of friends has expanded in ways I’d never imagined as has my pool of ideas and inspiration. A recent find has been The Weary Chef. Like me, she feeds a husband and two young kids while also running around tending to the rest of her life. While I’ve only just discovered TWC, I’m already nuts about her Friday Happy Hour post. While you’ll find a handful of cocktail write-ups at food for fun, there’s nothing scheduled weekly. Yet I so like the idea of celebrating the end of a workweek with a fun adult beverage that I’m hoping to stop by TWC each Friday and make whatever it is she’s making (or at least an approximation, depending on my pantry).

In honor of my new Friday tradition, I’ve been inspired by a review of a just-opened restaurant (you must click on this link if only to see the box graters hanging from the ceiling) in the latest Minnesota Monthly. Borough’s bar menu features A Flippin’ Good Drink and for the name alone I already love it. But it gets better: this drink combines milk stout with bourbon and egg to taste “almost like bitter dark chocolate.” Anything with bourbon gets a Like from me and the whole concept sounded absolutely lovely.

Amounts were not given, so I guessed at two parts stout to one part bourbon. And the (raw) egg thing didn’t sit well with me as it smacked of health shakes circa 1970. But I love me a little egg white froth on a cocktail (ramos gin fizz, anyone?), so tossed one white in the mix. Into the cocktail shaker, then, went 1/2 cup stout, 1/4 cup bourbon, 1 egg white.

flippin' good, yes

flippin’ good, yes

Minimal shaking required as the stout provided plenty of foam, though the egg white gave it a boost as well as tamed some of the stout’s rougher edges. I gave it a blast of carbonated water after sampling as it was too strong for my taste, but the chocolate notes rang loud and clear. I hope to hit Borough soon to try the real deal, but for now will enjoy my homespun version of the flippin’ good.

Overall, my drink-mixing skills are bare bones as I have yet to develop a sense for what kind and how much of one spirit to mix with another. But if I continue hanging out at TWC and other fun cocktail posts (Putney Farms is another good one for fun drinks), I’ll eventually find my inner mixologist. If you have favorite cocktail recipes or blog suggestions that will help me get there, please holler back via comments or facebook. I’d love to have you at the party 🙂

17 thoughts on “cocktail flippin’

  1. Holy Smokes, you are too kind! I’ve had a busy day with above-mentioned little children and only just saw this. Thank you for your too kind words, and I’ll keep the Happy Hour Fridays coming! Cheers!

    I have an old-school cocktail recipe book that includes a lot of drinks with egg white. I haven’t gotten up the nerve to try one even though I know it’s a classic ingredient, but maybe I will now that you have given it your blessing.

    • let me know if you do–it seems so elegant and fun and just a bit naughty to have egg white foam topping a cocktail 🙂 Let me know if you give it a go.

    • Thought of how “flip” was a bit of a wordplay with your inverted cocktails, but totally different concept. Alas. I’ll be over again soon to soak up more of your mixology wisdom 🙂

  2. I visited this fancy bar in the German district in Columbus when I visited last summer…they had all kinds of crazy, clever cocktails like this. I think I had one with egg and other random stuff 🙂 Thanks for showing me TWC! I want a cocktail every Friday 😉

  3. Pingback: happy hour @ foodforfun | food for fun

  4. Pingback: bourbon, baby! | food for fun

Thoughts?