cat on a hot toddy roof

Last time we met, we whipped up a loaf of whole wheat bread and it was oh-so-delicious. Remember?

Great-aunt Helen’s Whole Wheat Health Bread – nom

The promise was made to return with a cocktail to serve with said bread and though that promise is filled belatedly, fulfill it I did. Deciding on an alcoholic beverage to serve with bread seemed a tough task. Bread can go so many ways. Sandwiches might call for a brewed beverage, breakfast toast or a brunch strata, a mimosa. Sweet bread puddings call for a dessert wine and savory bread puddings, the dry white. After overpondering, I was overwhelmed and put it all on a proverbial shelf while I went about my daily.

But this morning when I looked out the window to yet another snowfall, I wondered if a winter warmer might fit the bill. How about a Hot Toddy?

Of all places to find such a recipe, my Hollywood Cocktails book came through. The book itself was a thrift-store find and is worth a read for the movie quotes and photos as much as for the recipes. Its Hot Toddy was pulled from 1958’s Cat on Hot Tin Roof, starring Elizabeth Taylor and Paul Newman. It’s a simple recipe, though sticking the cloves into the lemon slice got a bit tedious.

In the end, a tasty drink and it went especially well with cinnamon-sugar toast. Depending on where you live, you may or may not be knee-deep in snow right now, but if you are, this is the drink to get you through.

When we return, we’ll dig something delectable up from one of Great-aunt Helen’s recipe boxes. See you then!

4 thoughts on “cat on a hot toddy roof

    • I LOVE LOVE LOVE that you bought this book, Fannie 🙂 Isn’t it fun???? You like the classic movies, too? My dad got me into them and it’s been fun to watch a few together.

  1. I’m sorry. I saw Paul Newman. What are we talking about again? Oh, yes! A hot toddy! Always suggested by friends as a remedy for a cold, but it never pulls through for that duty. For drinkability, it does, and seems that it would pair well with the bread. I can almost smell the cloves from here!

Thoughts?